Edward Quinn, Photographer

The Edward Quinn Archive

Stars and Cars of the '50s



Un grand moment assuré pour tous
(„Edward Quinn. Stars and Cars oft the 50s“, teNeues Publishing Group 2008)

Jürgen Lewandowski

C’est en 1980 que je tombai pour la première fois sur le nom d’Edward Quinn : il figurait sur un livre au titre prometteur de Riviera Cocktail – avec pour sous-titre : Les années cinquante, l’âge d’or de la Côte d’Azur. J’étais fasciné : la jaquette d‘un violet foncé mentionnait des noms comme Gunter Sachs, Giovanni Agnelli, Jean Cocteau, Françoise Sagan, Peter Ustinov, Yul Brynner et – naturellement – Brigitte Bardot. Sans oublier des dizaines d’autres noms qui m’intéressaient, mais dont la liste serait trop longue.

Après avoir d’abord feuilleté et puis lu attentivement les 200 pages, je savais que j’étais né au mauvais endroit à la mauvaise date et, en ce qui concerne la fortune d’un Aristoteles Onassis ou du duc de Windsor qui me faisait défaut : à l’époque, l’argent n’était pas tout – celui qui réussissait comme artiste, avait du succès comme chanteur ou se taillait une réputation de bon vivant, pouvait se divertir royalement sur la Côte d’Azur et profiter de la vie, femmes séduisantes et glamour inclus. Une perspective alléchante – et que le livre avait le don d’ intensifier. Bref : j’étais subjugué par les photos d’Edward Quinn à une époque où il était, d’une part, presque oublié et, d’autre part, pas encore redécouvert. Car ce livre paru en 1980 n’était pas le best-seller qu’il aurait dû être – mais ce sort avait déjà frappé plus d’un livre.

Heureusement le destin fut clément à Edward Quinn – car, 27 ans plus tard, je tombai à nouveau sur le titre Riviera Cocktail. Cette fois dans un format plus grand, plus raffiné et plus spectaculaire – et Edward Quinn obtenait enfin les éloges et la reconnaissance qui, un quart de siècle plus tôt avaient été refusés à l’ouvrage.
Alain Delon and Jane Fonda arriving at the film set of
Enfin l’on reconnaissait l’éclat et le glamour d’une époque où argent et esprit se complétaient, où les célébrités n’étaient pas la proie de paparazzis agaçants et où les stars de cinéma pouvaient se déplacer normalement dans la vie de tous les jours. Une fenêtre s’ouvrait sur une époque où le grand monde affluait sur une petite bande de côte pour y tourner des films, faire la fête, profiter des vacances et s’adonner à la belle vie, qui, après les années de guerre, était – devait être vécue avec tant de plaisir, parce que les démons de la guerre devait être tenus à distance.

Naturellement l’automobile faisait aussi partie de ce style de vie – elle ne représentait pas seulement une mobilité retrouvée et la certitude de conquérir des lieux et paysages vers lesquels, en quête de beauté et de joie de vivre, on se sentait attiré ; vers les endroits « dans le vent » d’une société qui voulait recultiver l’art de faire la fête. Dans la tradition des années vingt et trente, l’automobile était aussi symbole de richesse, parfois d’ambitions sportives et, de temps à autre aussi, de bon goût. C’est pourquoi il n’est guère étonnant que nous rencontrions dans les pages suivantes quelques icônes du design, aujourd’hui rangées dans les garages des collectionneurs, atteignant lors de ventes aux enchères, dans la flambée des prix, des sommes que les anciens propriétaires n’auraient jamais pu imaginer.

Sans nul doute, les diverses Ferrari 250 GT California Spider en font partie, dont l’une au numéro de véhicule 2175 GT devint au printemps 1961 la propriété du metteur en scène Roger Vadim, ce dernier l’ayant soi-disant offerte ensuite à Brigitte Bardot – bien qu’il soit ici photographiée avec Catherine Deneuve. Ou encore la California Spider à immatriculation monégasque, dans laquelle Alain Delon et Jane Fonda sillonnaient à train d’enfer la Côte d’Azur en 1964. Ou la 212 Vignale Spider (0076E) du réalisateur Roberto Rossellini qui fit une halte à Monaco pour faire réparer le fragile douze cylindres. Encore plus rare, la 375 MM (0456 AM) de 1954 que Roberto Rossellini et Ingrid Bergman firent construire par la Carrozzeria Pininfarina – qui, juste trois ans plus tard, apparut à Cannes comme voiture d’occasion et est aujourd’hui considérée comme création novatrice de la carrosserie et comme icône du design italien. Personne ne pouvait se douter que ce douze cylindres se négocierait aujourd’hui en millions – et c’est tant mieux, parce que, sinon, jamais ses anciens propriétaires n’auraient conduit ce chef-d’œuvre d’esthétique avec autant de légèreté d’insouciance. Ils l’auraient alors, déjà à l’époque, enfermé dans des garages climatisés, comme c’est, hélas, trop souvent le cas de nos jours.

Autrefois, les rapports avec les voitures étaient différents. La photo de Peter Ustinov et de son Coupé Drophead Aston Martin DB 2 l’atteste en effet. Plus tard anobli sous le titre de Sir Peter, Ustinov, du reste un excellent connaisseur en automobiles, utilisait le noble carrosse pour ses trajets quotidiens – à toute heure et en toute tenue vestimentaire, comme le prouvent les chouette sandales dans lesquelles nous pouvons admirer la star internationale, futur propriétaire d’Hispano-Suiza et de Maserati, à côté de son Aston Martin. Les rares photos, sur lesquelles les stars montent dans des voitures ordinaires, comme le « fan » de Ferrari Roberto Rossellini dans une Panhard Dyna ou le pilote monégasque de Grand Prix Louis Chiron observant sa femme dans une Renault 4 CV, sont des exceptions. Ces impressionnants clichés ne dévoilent naturellement pas toute la réalité : Sophia Loren à côté d’une Peugeot 203 ? Brigitte Bardot en train de descendre d’une Citroën 2 CV ? Ou bien l’actrice Martine Carol posant avec son mari Christian-Jaque aux côtés d’une Citroën DS ? Il fallait pourtant qu’une personnalité importante soit photographiée à côté d’une voiture commune – la représentation de la vie quotidienne normale est très limitée dans l’œuvre d’Edward Quinn. Car, dans les années 50, la vie simple est exclue – qui voulait voir des photos de la Côte d’Azur attendait glamour et stars.

C’est bien pourquoi parmi ces souvenirs d’une grande époque se trouvent aussi les belles américaines, les limousines anglaises et les presque incontournables voitures officielles de la maison Rolls-Royce qui témoignent de l’importance et de la richesse de leurs propriétaires. Les amateurs de lignes plus sportives se tournaient plutôt vers la Ford Thunderbird, réponse pseudo-sportive de la maison Ford à la Corvette. Plus tard, aux côtés des modèles de Ferrari, Jaguar et Aston-Martin déjà mentionnés vinrent s’ajouter aussi quelques Porsche et surtout la Mercedes-Benz 300 SL. Avec son mélange unique de formes agressives (portes papillons !), de technique d’avant-garde (châssis coque ! injection directe d’essence !) et de succès sportifs (victoires au Mans, à Nürburgring et à la Carrera Panamericana !), ce modèle donnait à tout macho quelque peu fortuné le sentiment de posséder la voiture de sport par excellence. Et il n’y a qu’à voir les visages avisés d’un Karim Aga Khan, d’un Yul Brynner ou du Shah de Perse pour comprendre qu’ils avaient gagné le jackpot : impossible de dépasser ce statut.

La Côte d’Azur était bien sûr un biotope : une météo parfaite pour des films parfaits ; un paysage qui, aujourd’hui encore – à condition d’éviter les masses de touristes –, vous tient sous son charme, sans oublier une succulente cuisine, de bons vins, du champagne à souhait et des femmes si belles que les hommes riches et séduisants étaient attirés par elles comme les papillons de nuit par la lumière. De plus, la vie ici était presque donnée pour les producteurs de films américains et leur entourage grâce à un dollar très fort ; et, comme les merveilleux grands hôtels de la côte offraient le décor idéal et que de la principauté de Monaco émanait le charme d’un royaume d’opérette avec un vrai prince, la Côte d’Azur exerçait une immense attraction.

Une coulisse de rêve qui attira aussi les Européens, chefs d’entreprise – ou leurs fils –, nobles ou hommes politiques, parvenus au capital toujours nécessaire pour obtenir sur la Côte d’Azur la résidence appropriée et un peu de distraction. Et ceux qui n’avaient pas assez d’argent s’assuraient l’amitié d’un Aristoteles Onassis, comme l’ancien Premier ministre britannique Winston Churchill le pratiqua de façon exemplaire. Quant à ceux qui n’avaient plus de toit dans leur pays d’origine, parce que le peuple ou les militaires les avaient destitués de leur pouvoir, ils pouvaient être sûrs de trouver sur la Côte d’Azur un logis adéquat – tant que la source financière emportée dans les bagages (ou déposée à temps en Suisse) ne tarissait pas. Pour pouvoir travailler comme photographe, Edward Quinn n’aurait su trouver meilleur endroit au monde.

Qu’est-ce qui nous fascine autant aujourd’hui dans ces clichés ?

C’est certainement avant tout la légèreté qui émane de ces photos. La joie de vivre et – disons-le : le plaisir de montrer ce qu’on a. Tandis qu’aujourd’hui on a honte d’avoir réussi. Si l’imagination, la créativité et le travail qu’on y avait investis avaient apporté gloire et réussite sociale, la question ne se posait pas autrefois, les rêves voulaient être réalisés et vécus.

Dans ses réflexions sur la magie des années cinquante, l’auteur américain Albert Drake écrivit : « C’était le temps de l’innocence et de l’enthousiasme. Il y avait beaucoup moins de gens et beaucoup plus de libertés personnelles. Nous goûtions le paradoxe des modestes attentes et des rêves impossibles. Il régnait un esprit général d’optimisme. Le fait que nous étions tous jeunes nous aidait énormément et il se peut que seul cet élément suffise à sublimer ma vision de cette décade. » Un peu plus loin, il affirme : « C’est cette ambiance optimiste qui caractérisait les Fifties – tout était possible. Je le sentais vibrer dans l’air – qu’il s’agisse de l’avènement du cinémascope ou de la qualité Hi-Fi, de la télévision ou des avions à réaction – il se passait toujours des choses formidables. »

Et Edward Quinn et sa femme Gret Gret y contribuèrent aussi : Ils rassemblèrent de merveilleux moments dans un pays aussi merveilleux que Camelot, qui s’était matérialisé à cette époque et sous cette forme sur la Côte d’Azur. Ainsi, ils étaient en mesure de participer à la naissance du mythe et de créer un Shangri-La qui rayonne aujourd’hui encore.

Un Shangri-La regorgeant de cabriolets et créatures ravissantes. Un pays où on possédait argent et richesse et où on le montrait – et dans lequel les automobiles étaient un élément central de la mise en scène personnelle ; on ne filait pas encore d’une soirée mondaine à l’autre en hélicoptère, le trajet était le plaisir en soi. Les voitures pouvaient étaler leurs attributs : représentation, forme sportive, noblesse et parfois aussi un brin d’hédonisme. De plus, le diktat de l’aérodynamique ne régnait pas encore et l’amour du chrome était intact, ce qui donna naissance à une diversité de formes qui, aujourd’hui encore, nous coupe le souffle. Les photos d’Edward Quinn nous apportent une autre révélation : il y avait à cette époque-là un plus grand nombre de fabricants d’automobiles. Il existait en France une multitude de marques, de Simca à Peugeot, Citroën et Renault en passant par Facel-Vega, Talbot, Bugatti et Panhard. En Grande-Bretagne, on construisait des voitures portant les noms de Bristol, MG, Hillman, Sunbeam, Austin Healey, Aston Martin, Jaguar, Rolls-Royce et Bentley.

Chez les Américains, la diversité était absolument époustouflante – avec des marques comme Nash, Buick, Packard, Dodge, Studebaker, Oldsmobile, Kaiser, Hudson, Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet et Chrysler – et, bien sûr, les Cadillac surchargées mais impressionnantes, dans lesquelles les stars de cinéma aimaient être aperçues. Par contre, les marques allemandes, telles Mercedes-Benz, BMW et Porsche, se faisaient plutôt rares, à cause d’un éventail relativement restreint de modèles haut de gamme : uniquement les modèles Mercedes-Benz 300 et les BMW 503 et 507. Même constat aussi en Italie : il fallait au moins un Beach-Buggy
comme le Jolly pour attirer une célébrité dans une Fiat, celles-ci leur préférant de loin les modèles Ferrari, Maserati, Alfa-Romeo et Lancia qui alliaient le design à la technique. Il n’y a donc rien d’étonnant que le prince Rainier de Monaco s’installe de préférence dans les véhicules de la marque Lancia réunis dans son garage bien fourni : une B20 Aurelia Gran Turismo et une séduisante Lancia Aurelia B24 Spider America.

En contraste se posait la Vespa, moyen de locomotion urbain indispensable : déjà à l’époque, autour de la Croisette ou du palais du prince Rainier les embouteillages étaient courants et il fallait en sortir à toute vitesse.

Un voyage dans l’univers d’Edward Quinn est un voyage à travers une époque révolue pour toujours – la Côte d’Azur est naturellement attirante, même encore de nos jours : à condition d’être à la bonne saison au bon endroit. Autrement, elle est devenue une sorte de Disneyland, donc surpeuplée et hors de prix. Considérons donc les photos pour ce qu’elles sont : le merveilleux souvenir d’une époque où, tout certes n’était pas pour le mieux, mais où les hommes portaient en eux la certitude que tout pourrait devenir meilleur. C’est sans doute cet optimisme qui fait le charme particulier de ces clichés. Et nous regardons avec bonheur le luxe et la variété de ces automobiles – même celles qu’il ne nous sera plus jamais donné de voir ainsi.

Que chantaient si bien les Beatles, en 1967, dans l’album Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band ? A splendid time is guaranteed for all (Un grand moment assuré pour tous) – l’émotion qui vous accompagne en feuilletant ces pages ne saurait être mieux décrite.


Jürgen Lewandowski

Title photo: Edward Quinn, Zurich 1983. © Eric Bachmann

Edward Quinn, Photographer

The Edward Quinn Archive

Stars and Cars of the '50s



A splendid time is guaranteed for all
(Introduction to the book „Edward Quinn. Stars and Cars oft the 50s“, teNeues Publishing Group 2008)

Jürgen Lewandowski

It was in 1980 when I first encountered the name Edward Quinn: it appeared on a book that bore the promising title Riviera Cocktail – and the subtitle ran: The Golden Fifties on the Côte d’Azur. I was fascinated: The jacket, in its overall purple design, held promises of names such as Gunter Sachs, Giovanni Agnelli, Jean Cocteau, Françoise Sagan, Peter Ustinov, Yul Brynner and – of course – Brigitte Bardot, and in addition dozens of other names that caught my interest, but to list them all here would take up too much space.

After an initial perfunctory browse and a second more intensive reading of the 200 pages, I knew it: I was born at the wrong place at the wrong time; and as far as the wealth of an Aristotle Onassis or of the Duke of Windsor was concerned (something I lack): Money was not everything back then – whoever succeeded as an artist, thrived as a singer or knew how to impress with an extraordinary lifestyle, was also able to reside quite formidably on the Côte d’Azur and enjoy life, together with its glamour and enchanting women. It was a perspective that certainly appealed to me – and which the book knew how to encourage. Briefly speaking: I was addicted to Edward Quinn’s pictures, at a time when he was on the one hand almost forgotten and on the other not yet rediscovered. Indeed, the book-of-the-year 1980 was not the bestseller it should have been – but this fate has already struck many books.

Fortunately, fate was to be kind to Edward Quinn – because 27 years later I once again came across the title Riviera Cocktail. Now in a larger, grander and more spectacular form – and finally Edward Quinn received the praise and recognition that his work was denied of a quarter-century before: Finally, the resplendence and glamour was recognized of an era in which money and spirit complemented each other.
Alain Delon and Jane Fonda arriving at the film set of
An era, in which celebrities were not yet the prey of bothersome, intrusive paparazzi, and movie stars could quite normally go about their everyday life. A window opened, in which the whole world met along a small strip of coastline, in order to make movies, throw parties, enjoy vacations and to plunge into the dolce vita, which after years of war was now lived out so luxuriously – indeed, had to be lived so luxuriously, since the demons of war needed to be kept at bay.

The automobile, of course, belonged to this lifestyle – it stood not only for a reestablished mobility and the certainty of holding sway over localities and countryside, to which one felt attracted, in the search for beauty and joie de vivre; to the ‘in’ places of a society that desired to re-cultivate the joys of celebration. The automobile also represented – in the tradition of the 20s and 30s – a symbol of wealth, or sometimes sportsmanlike ambitions and now and again also for refined taste. And so it is no surprise that on the following pages we shall come across some of these design-icons, which are to be found today in the garages of the collectors, and in the course of the drastic rise in value of classic vehicles at auction, they fetch sums that the owners of the past could have never even imagined.

A list of such vehicles would without doubt include the various Ferrari 250 GT California Spiders, one of which, with the chassis number 2175 GT was acquired by director Roger Vadim in the Spring of 1961, which he then reportedly presented to Brigitte Bardot – although he is to be seen here with Catherine Deneuve. Or the California Spider, with the Monegasque registration, with which the streets of the Côte d’Azur were made unsafe by Alain Delon and Jane Fonda in 1964. Or the 212 Vignale Spider (0076E) of the movie-director Roberto Rossellini who made a stop in Monaco in order to have the fragile twelve-cylinder repaired. Even more rare is the 375 MM (0456 AM) of 1954 vintage. Roberto Rossellini and Ingrid Bergman had it built for them at the Carrozzeria Pininfarina – and it then appeared three years later in Cannes as a second-hand car and is considered today as a milestone of car body manufacture and an icon of Italian design. No one could imagine that these twelve-cylinder cars would today be the subjects of deals in the exalted price region of millions – and this is a good thing, since otherwise the former owners of these aesthetic masterpieces would never have been able to drive around so casually and so laid-back. Moreover, such cars in those days would even have been kept under lock and key in air-conditioned garages, as is all too often the case these days as well.

In those days too, one had a different attitude toward automobiles, which is demonstrated by the photo of Peter Ustinov and his Aston Martin DB 2 drophead coupe. Later ennobled to Sir Peter, he was incidentally an outstanding automobile expert who used this particular luxury vehicle as his everyday car, at any time of day, and wearing any style of outfit – as the practical sandals show, in which this future world star and Hispano-Suiza and Maserati owner can be admired along with his Aston Martin. Those few photos in which the rich and famous are seen with ordinary cars – such as for example the renowned ferrarista Roberto Rossellini getting into a Panhard Dyna or the Monegasque grand-prix driver Louis Chiron beholding his wife in her Renault 4 CV – are the exception. Indeed, these impressive pictures certainly do not depict the full reality: Sophia Loren alongside a Peugeot 203? Brigitte Bardot, who is just stepping out of a Citroën 2CV? And the movie actress Martine Carol who, together with her husband Christian-Jaque is posing next to their Citroën DS? However, it had to be an important personality if photographed next to an ordinary car – perfectly normal everyday life appears only to a limited extent in Edward Quinn’s oeuvre. Indeed, ordinary life in the 50s was excluded, and whoever wished to see photos of the Côte d’Azur, expected glamour and stars.

This is why, among these recollections of a great era, the big American road cruisers, British limousines and the almost inevitable state carriages from the Rolls-Royce stables are to be found, which reveal something of the prominence and wealth of their owners. For those who liked a somewhat more ‘sportif’ variety, there was the popular Ford Thunderbird, that pseudo-sportster answer to the Corvette by the Ford Motor Co. Later, along with the already mentioned Ferrari, Jaguar and Aston Martin models, a few Porsches were introduced into the scene and above all the Mercedes-Benz 300 SL. With its unique mélange of aggressive form (gull-wing doors!), avant-garde technology (tubular frame! fuel injection!) and motor racing successes (victories at Le Mans, on the Nürburgring and at the Carrera Panamericana!) this car gave every more-or-less moneyed macho the feeling of owning the ultimate sports car. One only has to look at a knowing smirk from Karim Aga Khan, or Yul Brynner or from the Shah of Persia, in order to recognize that they really had won the jackpot: more status was not on the cards.

Naturally, the Côte d’Azur was a biotope: perfect weather for perfect movies; a landscape that – if you are able to avoid the hordes of tourists – one can still be addicted to today. In addition there was perfect food, fine wines, champagne in abundance and such beautiful women, so that rich and attractive men were drawn in like moths around a lamp. Furthermore, everyday life for the American film producers here and their entourage was extremely cheap thanks to a strong dollar, and since the wonderful grand hotels along the coast offered ideal backdrops and the Principality of Monaco simply radiated with the charm of a theatrical wonderland complete with a real prince, there emanated from the Côte d’Azur an incalculable allure.

A dreamscape, which also attracted Europeans who had come as entrepreneurs (or their sons) or as aristocrats or politicians to this affluence which was ever necessary on the Côte d’Azur if you wanted to find a suitable place to stay and some amusement. And whoever was without sufficient funds, sought the friendship of one such as Aristotle Onassis, just as the former British prime minister Winston Churchill had so admirably celebrated. And those who no longer found an open door in their home country – because they had been removed from power by the common people or by the military – could be sure of finding an adequate home on the Côte d’Azur – provided that the financial resources they brought with them (or deposited in Swiss banks in good time) had not run dry. In order to succeed as a photographer, Edward Quinn could not have chosen a better location anywhere in the world.

What is it about these pictures that fascinate us so much today?

Probably, it is first of all the effortlessness that these photos radiate. The joie de vivre and – indeed, this too: the joy in showing off one’s possessions. Whereas today, one is almost ashamed of the fact of having achieved something. If fantasy, creativity and the effort invested in them, had brought success and status, then there was no question back then, that dreams longed to be implemented and lived out.

The American author Albert Drake wrote in his reflections on the magic of the 50s: “It was a time of innocence and enthusiasm. There were far fewer people and many more personal freedoms. We enjoyed the paradox of low expectations and impossible dreams. There was a general spirit of optimism. It helped, of course, that everybody was young, and perhaps that condition alone colors my view of the decade.” And he later continued: “It was this spirit of optimism that characterized the Fifties – anything was possible. I know I felt the optimism in the air – whether it was the advent of Cinemascope or "hi-fi", television or jets – something marvellous was always happening.”

And Edward Quinn and his wife Gret contributed here as well: They collected the wonderful moments in a wonderful land of Camelot that had materialized at this time and in this form on the Côte d’Azur. Thus, they were able to contribute their part to the mythos and to create a Shangri-La, that to this day still casts its spell.

A Shangri-La that was full of cabriolets and beautiful people. A land in which money and riches were possessed and exhibited – and in which automobiles were a central feature of this self-dramatization; a time before helicopters were used to dash from party to party. The journey itself was still the reward. Automobiles were allowed to show their purpose: representation, sportiness, noblesse and sometimes even a little hedonism. Furthermore, the diktat of the wind tunnel did not yet hold sway and the desire for chrome was unbroken. There ensued from this a wide diversity of forms that today makes us almost breathless. However, a glance at Quinn’s photos conveys one further insight: there was at that time a larger number of car manufacturers. Thus, in France there was Simca, Facel Vega, Talbot, Bugatti and Panhard, right up to Peugeot, Citroën and Renault, an impressive list of brands. In Great Britain, cars were produced bearing the names Bristol, MG, Hillman, Sunbeam, Austin Healey, Aston Martin, Jaguar, Rolls Royce and Bentley.

Simply overwhelming was the diversity of American cars, boasting brands such as Nash, Buick, Packard, Dodge, Studebaker, Oldsmobile, Kaiser, Hudson, Ford, Lincoln, Chevrolet and Chrysler – and of course the flamboyant but impressive Cadillac, in which the movie stars were so glad to be seen. In contrast, Germany – with Mercedes-Benz, BMW and Porsche – was quite austerely represented. This is explained by the relatively meager selection of top-of-the-range models: here only the Mercedes-Benz 300-series models and the BMW 503 and 507 ultimately counted. The situation was similar in Italy: it required a beach buggy such as the Jolly, in order to tempt a prominent person to even step into a Fiat – they were more enthusiastic about the design and technology combined in Ferrari, Maserati, Alfa-Romeo and Lancia models. So it is no surprise that, in his well-assorted garage, Prince Rainier of Monaco was especially glad to get into one of the vehicles from the house of Lancia: a B20 Aurelia Gran Turismo and an enchanting Lancia Aurelia B24 Spider America.

Quite in contrast to this was the Vespa, which as a means of local transport was irreplaceable: Traffic jams around the Croisette or at the palace of Prince Rainier were common at that time too and needed to be speedily dealt with.


A journey through the world of Edward Quinn is a journey through an era that will never return as it was then – of course the Côte d’Azur is captivating still today: if you are at the right locations in the right season. Other than this, it has mutated into a kind of Disneyland and is consequently overflowing and overpriced. So let us look at the pictures for what they are: a wonderful reminder of an era in which by no means everything was better, but the people held on to the steadfast conviction that all things could improve. It is probably this optimism that turns these photos into something special. So let us enjoy the magnificence and the diversity of these automobiles – even they are never to return as they were then.

How did the Beatles sing it so succinctly in 1967 on the Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band album? A splendid time is guaranteed for all – nothing better describes the feeling of browsing through these pages.

Jürgen Lewandowski

Title photo: Edward Quinn, Zurich 1983. © Eric Bachmann